Hometown Sports
Don't Miss

Kyle Larson Continues Historic Season With Port Royal Rumble By the River Victory in Second Career Lucas Oil Late Model Start

Courtesy of Port Royal Speedway


By- Justin Snyder


Port Royal Speedway- PORT ROYAL, Pa. (Aug. 30, 2020)- Kyle Larson led all 50 laps on his way to picking up the Rumble By the River finale Saturday night at Port Royal Speedway with the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series. The win was worth $15,000, along with an additional $1000 courtesy of Packer’s Concessions, and came in only his second career start behind the wheel of a Super Late Model.


“This is probably one of, if not, my biggest wins ever,” said Larson, who already has three wins at the Speedway this season behind the wheel of a sprint car. “I thought we’d be ok, but I definitely did not expect to win a race. To climb into something that’s way different than anything I’ve  ever been in and to have success with such a great team just means a lot.”


Larson bested Brandon Sheppard by .499 seconds at the line\, while local competitor Gregg Satterlee made up the rest of the podium. Chris Ferguson and night one winner Tim McCreadie filled out the rest of the top-five.


While he led all 50 laps, he had to fight off multiple attempts from Sheppard, Hudson O’Neal,  Satterlee and Ferguson to get the job done.


Sheppard started on the pole for the 50-lap extravaganza, but Larson got the quick jump at the green flag from the second starting position to take the lead.


Running the top of the speedway in turn’s one and two and the bottom in three and four, Larson held a two car-length over Sheppard lead by lap 10. That same lap the first caution of the event flew when Colton Flinner came to a slow in turn four.


With the series utilizing Delaware restarts, Larson led the field back to the green flag. Meanwhile, Hudson O’Neal threw his hat into the ring when he slid under Sheppard for the runner-up position. By lap 18 Larson held a 1.2 second advantage, while Sheppard and O’Neal battled side by side for second- which Sheppard would take back the following circuit.


Over the next four laps, Sheppard was slowly chipping away at Larson’s advantage and he closed to his bumper coming to the start finish line on lap 22. He showed his nose entering turn 1 and tried to make the pass exiting turn two, but Larson sped off the top of the speedway. The caution then flew for a car slowing on the backstretch.


Larson held off both O’Neil and Sheppard over four restarts in the next five laps before a caution ended O’Neal’s chances when he got into the outside guardrail in turn three and came to a stop on lap 29.


Larson once again took off on the restart and by lap 35 he held nearly a full straightaway advantage. Meanwhile Satterlee, who started sixth, was all over Sheppard for second. The two swapped positions multiple times before Sheppard settled in and made one last effort to catch Larson.


With eight to go Sheppard cut the lead to 1.1 seconds and three laps later, with Larson hitting lap traffic he cut that advantage in half.  With three to go, Larson was able to put two lap cars between him and Sheppard using the top of the track in turn’s three and four and it was all he needed as he cruised home to the checkered flag unchallenged.


“After the first night, I had a lot of confidence and I felt like I could win if I started up front,” said Larson, who finished fifth in his first race on Thursday. “I want my legacy someday to be known as one of the greatest, all around race car drivers there  ever was.”


“This definitely helps the cause and I just want to continue to run good and win a lot of races. I just love  driving race cars and I’m so thankful to have these opportunities in great equipment and this is just so much fun,” he added.


For Sheppard, he believed he may have let one slip away and was kicking himself over what he could have done differently.


“We were really good and I think there’s a few things I’d have done differently if I could go back,” he said. “Kyle is obviously talented and it’s amazing what he’s been able to do in  a short amount of time, so second to him I guess isn’t all that bad.”


Earl Pearson Jr., Jimmy Owens, Kyle Strickler, Mason Zeigler, and Rick Eckert rounded out the top 10.


Lucas Oil Late Model Results- 1. Kyle Larson ($16,000) 2. Brandon Sheppard 3. Gregg Satterlee 4. Chris Ferguson 5. Tim McCreadie 6. Earl Pearson Jr. 7. Jimmy Owens 8. Kyle Strickler 9. Mason Zeigler 10. Rick Eckert 11. Josh Richards 12. Tanner English 13. Stormy Scott 14.Hudson O’Neal 15. Shane Clanton 16. Kyle Bronson 17. Tyler Erb 18. Tyler Brunening 19. Trent Ivey 20.Devin Moran 21. Billy Moyer Jr. 22.Jason Covert 23. Bobby Pierce 24. Jonathan Davenport 25. Colton Flinner



Ryan Ayers capitalized on David Stremme’s mechanical woes to take the lead with seven laps to go to claim the Mid-Atlantic Modified feature win worth $1500 Saturday night.


Ayers took the checkered flag by 1.179 seconds over Ron Davies, Ty Rhoads, Carl McKinney and Drake Troutman.


David Stremme looked to be in control of the event as he went from third to first on the opening circuit to take the lead and he quickly checked out on the field. Ayers settled into the second position and could do nothing but watch as Stremme picked through lap traffic with ease.


The caution flew with 13 laps to go when a car slowed on the backstretch, bunching everyone back together and wiping out the advantage. Stremme again took off, but with seven laps to go he came to a slow while exiting turn two, handing the lead and the race to Ayers.


Over the final seven circuits, Ayers withstood several restarts from cautions and went untouched to claim his first career victory at the track.


“I don’t really know what to say, but I just got to thank everyone who makes this deal possible for me to be here in victory lane,” said Ayers. “I kind of was moving around out there a little bit and I don’t know if I had anything for him without him having issues. But we’ll take this and enjoy the win tonight no matter what.”


Mid-Atlantic Modifieds Results- 1. Ryan Ayers ($1500) 2. Ron Davies 3. Ty Rhoads 4. Carl McKinney 5. Drake Troutman 6. Booper Bare 7. Brad Kling 8.Justin Cullum 9. Jimmy Jesner 10. Beau Aikey 11. Dale Smith 12. Jerry Foster 13. Steve Fox 14. Jacob Marker 15. Ray Kable 16. Alyssa Rowe 17. Brandon Households 18. Deron Henry 19. Even Taylor 20. Ridge Bookwalter 21. Michael Altobelli Jr. 22. Mike Franklin 23. Cody Oliver 24. Tim Fedders 25. Jonathan Taylor 26. David Stremme

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *