Hometown Sports
Don't Miss

World of Outlaws NOS Energy Drink Sprint Car Series to Return to ‘The Speed Palace’ for Two Nights in October During 2020 Season

Courtesy of Port Royal


By- Justin Snyder/Port Royal Speedway


PORT ROYAL, Pa- Adding to what is shaping up to be an impressive and diverse 2020 racing schedule, Port Royal Speedway is once again proud to host the World of Outlaws NOS Energy Drink Sprint Car Series Oct.  9-10 for two days of mudslinging action.


Still using the Nittany Showdown moniker, this will be the third consecutive season in which the Speedway will attempt a two-day event. The last two seasons have been hit with rain and as a result has been shortened to one night. With the weekend date being moved up a few weeks earlier in the season, this could be the first time both races get run in the history of the Speedway.


Last year Donny Schatz continued a recent string of success at the Speedway as he picked up the victory over Pennsylvania Posse regular Anthony Macri and weekend invader Brian Brown. The $8000 checkered flag was the third consecutive at the Juniata County oval for Schatz and his fourth career at the track.


Once again racers will compete Friday night for $8,000 and $15,000 during Saturday night’s finale.


Founded in 1978 by Ted Johnson, the World of Outlaws are the premier Sprint Car traveling series in the country and play host to some of the best drivers the sport has to offer such as 2019 defending champion Brad Sweet, 10-time champion Schatz, former champion Daryn Pittman and 51-time winner David Gravel.


Along with up and coming drivers such as Logan Schuchart, Carson Macedo and Sheldon Haudenschild among others, the Outlaws and PA Posse rivalry will be on full display as local heroes such as Lance Dewease (17 WoO Wins), Danny Dietrich (5 WoO Wins), Ryan Smith (1 WoO Win), Freddie Rahmer (1 WoO Win) and Logan Wagner (2018,2019 Port Royal Track Champion) attempt to carry the PA banner in front of a packed house of fans.


Also throw in several invaders who call Pennsylvania home during the tail-end of the season looking to make their mark on the history books as drivers who will likely be in attendance.


The very first Outlaws Sprint Car race held at the Speedway occurred in 1979 and Lynn Paxton picked up the checkered flag that evening. The series didn’t return until two consecutive seasons in 1986-87, when Don Kreitz Jr. and Doug Wolfgang picked up victory. Over a decade later, the series returned for four seasons from 2001-2004 where Danny Wood, Brad Furr, Jason Meyers and Schatz parked it in victory lane.


The series returned after a 10-year absence in 2014 and have been a regular on the yearly schedule since with Ryan Smith, Sweet, Schuchart and Schatz all winning shows. The Posse will be looking to break a 5-year stranglehold by the Outlaws at the Speedway in 2020.


Stayed tuned to our various social media outlets and website www.portroyalspeedway.com for more announcements regarding ticket sales, event information and the remainder of the 2020 Port Royal Speedway schedule in entirety in the coming weeks and thank you for your support!


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *