Hometown Sports
Don't Miss

Yeagertown tops Rothrock to take Super Series Minor title

Yeagertown 8, Rothrock 3
REEDSVILLE – The bats came through when they needed them the most as the number one seeded Yeagertown defeated Rothrock who was the number three seed to the 2021 Big Valley Little League Super Series Minor League Baseball Championship.
Rothrock got it started in the top of the first where Crosby Sunderland singled to left field to bring home Landon Pecht.
Yeagertown responded in the bottom half of the inning and had the bases loaded and Brody Keefer at the plate with the count being 3-0. But rain forced the game to be postponed.
When the game resumed, the bases were loaded, Keefer was hit by a pitch which allowed Brayden Forshey to score. Carter Sunderland then drew a walk that scored Cohen Leister before Cameron Demi drew another walk that brought home Keefer.
Reagan Varner scored another run for Rothrock in the top of the third as Varner drew a walk to score Bryson Martz.
Yeagertown would add three more runs in the bottom of the fourth as Leister hit a single to center that scored Forshey. Tanner McElwain reached base on an error which allowed Leister to score. Keefer then scored on a passed ball.
The third and final run for Rothrock came in the top of the fifth where Liam Guerrero hustled his way down to home plate taking advantage of another passed ball.
Yeagertown scored their final runs in the bottom half of the fifth inning adding two more runs in the frame. Keefer would hit an infield single to score Forshey. Carter Sunderland drew a walk to bring in Leister.
Brody Keefer went 2-for-3 at the plate for Yeagertown while Leister was 1-for-1 with an RBI and Forshey went 1-for-2.
Rothrock was led by Conner Yoder and Crosby Sunderland who both went 1-for-2 at the plate.
Tanner McElwain pitched the first two innings for Yeagertown and had two strikeouts and two walks each. Cohen Leister pitched the next two and had five strikeouts and four walks before Brayden Forshey pitched the final two innings of the game collecting five strikeouts and a walk.
Crosby Sunderland got the start for Rothrock and had four strikeouts and seven walks before handing the ball over to Reagan Varner who struck out five and walked three. Landon Pecht pitched the final inning for Rothrock with three strikeouts and two walks.
Yeagertown finishes the season undefeated going (15-0) and Rothrock finishes their season (12-5). Congratulations to both teams and to all of the other teams for an incredible season.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *