Hometown Sports
Don't Miss

Parsons on The Butkus Award Watch List

Courtesy of GoPSU Athletics

Junior linebacker was a finalist for the award last season


UNIVERSITY PARK, Pa. – Penn State junior linebacker Micah Parsons has been named to The Butkus Award® watch list, it was announced on Monday. The award honors the nation’s top linebacker. Parsons was a finalist for the award in 2019.


The watch list contains 51 linebackers, mirroring the legendary “51” pro jersey associated with the Award’s namesake Dick Butkus, who was recognized by NFL Films as the best defensive player in football history.


Semi-finalists are expected to be named November 2, finalists November 23, and winners on or before December 8.


Micah Parsons Bio:


  • 2019 Big Ten Butkus-Fitzgerald Linebacker of the Year.
  • Became the first sophomore in Big Ten history to win the award.
  • 2019 first team All-Big Ten selection by the coaches and media.
  • Named a Consensus All-American by the NCAA.
  • Was a first team All-America selection by numerous outlets, including the Associated Press, USA Today, ESPN, the AFCA, Sports Illustrated, Bleacher Report and Pro Football Focus.
  • Earned additional All-America honors from by Sporting News, CBS Sports, the FWAA, Walter Camp Foundation, The Athletic and Phil Steele.
  • Has six career forced fumbles, seventh all-time at Penn State.
  • Tallied four forced fumbles in 2019, tied for fifth in a single season for the Nittany Lions.
  • The four forced fumbles were tied for third in the Big Ten and tied for fifth nationally.
  • Earned the 2019 Most Valuable Defensive Player at the team’s awards banquet.
  • Was a finalist for the Butkus Award and a semifinalist for the Bednarik Award.
  • Appeared in 13 games in 2019, making 12 starts, and finished the season with 10 or more tackles in three-straight games and six of the final seven games.
  • Secured 10 tackles and registered two tackles for loss in the win over Buffalo (9/7/19).
  • In the victory over Pittsburgh (9/14/19), collected nine tackles, seven solo, and registered two tackles for loss, while adding a pass breakup and a QB hurry.
  • Recorded two tackles for loss, a sack and five tackles in the win over Purdue (10/5/19).
  • In the Michigan win (10/19/19), tied a career high with 14 tackles, including six solo, with eight of those 14 tackles holding Michigan to one or less yard.
  • Collected 12 tackles and broke up a pass in the win at Michigan State (10/26/19).
  • Secured 11 tackles, six solo, and tallied two TFLs and a sack at Minnesota (11/9/19).
  • Recorded seven tackles and forced a fumble in the victory over Indiana (11/16/19).
  • Registered 10 tackles at Ohio State (11/23/19), while adding two tackles for loss, a forced fumble and a recovery.
  • Made 10 tackles and added a solo sack in the Rutgers win (11/30/19).
  • In the Cotton Bowl win over Memphis (12/28/19), registered a career-high three tackles for loss and two sacks, while also forcing two fumbles and adding a personal best two pass breakups.
  • Tied a career high mark in tackles with 14 against the Tigers and was named to the AP All-Bowl Team, ESPN All-Bowl Team and Sports Illustrated All-Bowl Team.


Formed in 1985 and expanded in 2008, the Butkus Award honors linebackers at three levels while supporting causes important to the Butkus family. They include the I Play Clean® initiative promoting training and nutrition instead of performance-enhancing drugs, and the Butkus Takes Heart™ initiative encouraging early cardiovascular screening among adults.


The Butkus Award, www.thebutkusaward.com, @ButkusAward2020 and on Facebook at 51.butkus, is presented by the nonprofit Butkus Foundation. Selectors and selection criteria are located on the official website. Search social media for #butkusaward2020.


The Butkus Award® is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) which encompasses college football’s most prestigious awards. NCFAA’s 25 awards have honored more than 800 recipients since 1935. Visit www.NCFAA.org for more information.


Penn State on 2020 Watch Lists

Bednarik Award: Micah Parsons

Biletnikoff Award: Pat Freiermuth

Butkus Award: Micah Parsons

Doak Walker Award: Journey Brown, Noah Cain

John Mackey Award: Pat Freiermuth

O’Brien Award: Sean Clifford

Lott IMPACT Trophy: Micah Parsons


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *